The Rhinoceros, also known as rhinos, are magnificent and powerful herbivorous mammals with distinctive horns and a robust build.


average lifespan


Thick skin

2.5 tonne




Vulnerability Factor

Critically Endangered

Activity period

Diurnal – Nocturnal



Rhinoceros are iconic creatures that capture the imagination with their prehistoric appearance and imposing presence.

Rhinoceros are charismatic animals that have captivated humans for centuries. They are native to Africa and Asia, with different species found in each continent. Rhinos are characterized by their massive bodies, thick, armour-like skin, and two prominent horns on their snouts. These horns are made of keratin, the same material as human hair and nails. Unfortunately, rhinos face the threat of poaching due to the high demand for their horns in traditional medicine and illegal wildlife trade.

Find them at the following tours

Our carefully crafted tours offer the perfect opportunity to witness a diverse array of magnificent creatures in their natural habitats. Join us on these remarkable journeys to see this animal, and let the magic of the animal kingdom unfold before your eyes.
Starting from

$9,490.00 pps

15 spaces available

Rhino Overview


Rhinoceros are large and powerful mammals that exhibit unique characteristics and offer exceptional photo opportunities. They have a robust build, with some species weighing over 2,000 kilograms (4,400 pounds) and standing up to 1.8 meters (6 feet) tall at the shoulder. Rhinos are recognized for their thick, wrinkled skin, which acts as a protective barrier against predators and the harsh environment. Their most distinguishing feature is their horns, which vary in size and shape depending on the species.

Photographing rhinoceros provides a chance to capture their impressive physical attributes and the raw beauty of these magnificent creatures. From close-up shots that highlight the intricate details of their horns and skin texture to capturing their interactions within their social groups, there are numerous photo opportunities. Additionally, rhinos’ habitats, such as grasslands, savannas, and dense forests, offer breathtaking backdrops for wildlife photography. Their scarcity in the wild further enhances the value of capturing memorable images of these endangered species.

Rhino Overview

Key facts

  • Rhinos are among the most endangered mammals in the world, with several species critically endangered or on the brink of extinction.
  • There are five main species of rhinoceros: white rhinoceros, black rhinoceros, Indian rhinoceros, Javan rhinoceros, and Sumatran rhinoceros.
  • Rhinos are herbivores, feeding on grasses, leaves, shoots, and fruits.
  • Rhinos have poor eyesight but compensate with their acute sense of smell and excellent hearing.
  • They have a thick, armour-like skin that can be up to 5 centimetres (2 inches) thick.
  • Rhinos communicate through various vocalizations, body postures, and scent markings.
  • White rhinos are the largest species, with males weighing up to 2,500 kilograms (5,500 pounds).
  • Black rhinos are smaller and more aggressive than white rhinos, with a hooked upper lip specialized for browsing on leaves and twigs.
  • Indian rhinos have a single horn, while Javan and Sumatran rhinos have two.
  • Rhinos play a crucial role in their ecosystems by shaping landscapes, dispersing seeds, and creating water holes.

Types and Habitats

There are five main species of rhinoceros, each with its unique characteristics and habitat preferences. The white rhinoceros is found in grassy plains and savannas of southern and eastern Africa. Black rhinos inhabit dense vegetation areas, including woodlands and shrublands, primarily in eastern and southern Africa. Indian rhinoceros are native to the Indian subcontinent and can be found in the tall grasslands and riverine forests of Nepal and northeastern India. Javan rhinoceros are critically endangered and reside in the dense tropical rainforests of Java, Indonesia. Sumatran rhinoceros are also critically endangered and inhabit dense forests and swampy areas of Sumatra, Indonesia.

These different species of rhinos have adapted to their respective habitats, utilizing their unique physical and behavioural traits. For example, white rhinos have a broad, square-shaped mouth for grazing on grasses, while black rhinos have a prehensile upper lip for browsing on leaves and twigs.


Explore the Fascinating World of This Animal Through These Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Poaching for their horns is the primary threat to rhinos. They are hunted for their horns, which are highly valued in some cultures for their supposed medicinal properties.

There are five main species of rhinoceros: white rhinoceros, black rhinoceros, Indian rhinoceros, Javan rhinoceros, and Sumatran rhinoceros.

The lifespan of rhinos varies among species. White and Indian rhinos can live up to 40-50 years, while black rhinos have a slightly shorter lifespan of around 35-45 years.

Adult rhinos have few natural predators due to their large size and formidable horns. However, young rhinos may be vulnerable to predation by lions, hyenas, and crocodiles.

Rhinos are generally peaceful animals but can become aggressive if they feel threatened or during territorial disputes. It is important to observe them from a safe distance in the wild.